House Rules
  • Sorcerers gain Eschew Materials as a bonus feat at first level.

Variant Rules

  • Clobbered: (DMG)

(For those who are unfamiliar) Ultimately damage doesn't matter until a character is unconscious or dead. It has no effect while she's up and fighting. It's easy to imagine , however, that she could be hit so hard that she's clobbered, but not knocked unconscious or dead.
Using this variant, if a character takes half her current hitpoints in damage from a single blow, she is clobbered. On her next turn, she can take only a standard action, and after that she is no longer clobbered.

  • Automatic hits and misses: (DMG)

(Just in case you don't know this one)The players handbook says that an attack roll of natural 1 is always a miss. A natural 20 is always a hit. This rule means that the lowliest kobold can strike the most magically protected, armored, dexterous character on a roll of 20,. It also means that regardless of a warrior's training, experience, and magical assistance, he still misses a given foe at least 5% of the time.
A different way to handle this is to say that a natural 1 is treated as a roll of –10. Someone with an attack bonus of +6 nets to a –4 result, which can't hit anything. Someone with a +23 base attack bonus rolling a one would hit AC 13 or lower. At the other extreme, a natural 20 is treated as roll of 30. Even someone with a –2 attack penalty would hit AC 28 with such a roll.

  • Striking the cover instead of a missed target: (DMG)

(Just in case you aren't familiar with this one) In ranged combat against a target that has cover, it may be important to know whether the cover was actually struck by an incoming attack that misses the intended target. First, determine if the attack roll would have hit the protected target without cover. If the attack roll falls within a range low enough to miss the target with cover, but high enough to strike the target had there been no cover, the object used for cover is struck. If a creature is providing cover for another character and the attack roll exceeds the AC of the covering creature, the covering creature takes the damage intended for the target.
If the covering creature has a Dexterity bonus to AC or a dodge bonus, and this bonus keeps the covering creature from being hit, the original target is hit instead. The covering creature has dodged out of the way and didn't provide cover at all. A covering creature can choose not to apply his Dexterity bonus to AC and/or his dodge bonus, if his intent is to try to take the damage in order to keep the covered character from being hit.

Unless otherwise stated, the content of this page is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License